Toxic Childhood Stress

£9.99

In Stock

‘Finally after thirty years, I finally understood . . . this book holds the answers you’ve been searching for.’ Kerry HudsonThe Surgeon General of California reveals pioneering research on how childhood stress leads to lifelong health problems and what we can do to break the cycle.Perfect for fans of The Body Keeps the...

Vendor: Foxberry
Finally after thirty years, I finally understood . . . this book holds the answers you’ve been searching for.’ Kerry Hudson

The Surgeon General of California reveals pioneering research on how childhood stress leads to lifelong health problems and what we can do to break the cycle.

Perfect for fans of The Body Keeps the Score by Bessel van der Kolk, this eye-opening book includes a free Adverse Childhood Experience test and looks at the widespread crisis of trauma and childhood adversity through the objective lens of science and medicine, providing a roadmap for deeper understanding and change. It is vital now more than ever, as a result of the Coronavirus pandemic, that we find a way to address, understand and heal trauma.

Two thirds of us have experienced at least one adverse childhood experience, from the likes of bereavement and divorce to abuse and neglect. In Toxic Childhood Stress Dr Burke Harris reveals the science behind childhood adversity and offers a new way of understanding the adverse events that affect us throughout our lifetime. Based on her own groundbreaking clinical work and public leadership, Dr Burke Harris shows us how we can disrupt this cycle through interventions that help retrain the brain and body, foster resilience, and help children, families, and adults live healthier, happier lives.